A secret request link can be used for requesting a secret from someone.
The link can be used to create a new one-time link to a secret, with pre-defined settings for the secrets created using the link.
Each one-time link created using the request link counts towards the monthly usage.
When the recipient opens the request link, they can fill in a secret and create a new one-time link to it. You can instruct them to send the link back to you by the method of your choice.
The request page template can be also be customized and branded.
Optionally our service can also send the created link automatically over email to the desired address. Please read the section "Sending links" for information about how the feature works.
Create request link
To create a new secret request link, click the "New request" button at the top.
The following settings can be configured for the request link:
- Description: a description for the request link, will be shown in the list of request links.
- Message: a message for the request link opener, will be shown above the secret input area.
- Expiration: an expiration time for the request link, in hours.
- Limit: usage limit for the request link, i.e. how many times the link can be used to create a secret. Defaults to 1.
- Send to: email address to send the created one-time link to. Please read the section "Sending links" for information about how the feature works.
The following settings can be configured for the one-time link for the secret:
- Description: a description for the link, will be shown in the list of secrets.
- Message: a message for the link opener, will be shown above the secret.
- Expiration: an expiration time for the link, in hours.
- Password: a password for the link, the secret cannot be viewed without providing the correct password.
For convenience and automation, you can set the created one-time link to be automatically sent back to you over email after it has been created. This means that the link must go through our servers.
However, we do not store or log the link at any point - we simply insert it to an email template and pass it to an outgoing email server for sending. In practice this means that while the link goes through our servers we cannot see it.
This feature is completely optional and when not enabled the created one-time link is not sent anywhere.